Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Hi all. I have a question about something I don't quite understand. I'm fairly new to being banded...nearly four months. I see folks on this forum who've been banded for years so maybe it's just because I'm new but can someone explain how you can overeat with the band? My understanding is that if you eat too much, you will feel sick and likely throw up.

I stick to around 1,000 calories daily...3 oz. Protein, 1/2 cup veggies, 1/4 cup carbs. I find this amount of food is basically satisfying...I never feel full but I know I'm not supposed to. I also get hungry regularly but not between meals as much as just before it's time to eat my next meal. There are times when I would love to have a big bowl of spaghetti but I truly fear getting sick and that is often my motivation for sticking to the rules.

How is it then that people 'slip back' into old habits and gain much if not all their weight back? When I read about folks gaining it all back, I think this being banded is no better than all the other diets we've tried..and failed at. I'm really concerned that while I'm currently successful, anything could get me off track, and I'll put the weight back on. I say this because I've been there before. I lost 80 lbs many years ago and kept it off for about six years. Then a second marriage went sour and before I knew it, I had put it all back on and then after stopping smoking, I put on another 50 lbs. on top of what I gained back.

I currently have no fills but have not felt the need for any since I'm not grazing or overeating. I wonder if I should get a fill at my next appointment just to dampen down the hunger even though I'm able to control it so far. Any insight from my fellow bandsters would be really appreciated.