Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

My surgery is Friday

Hello everyone, this is my first night on here and my surgery is scheduled Friday. I'm overjoyed and terrified all together, I'm ready to begin my new journey ,but fear consequences of going under the knife. I have two small children and they depend on me , but I have to keep reminding myself that I'm doing this for them, and I have to be healthy for them. I also fear the pain and recovery time, I've had two csec but I see that the pain can be worse than that...I also work and attend school, how will I juggle this? Is there anyone in the same boat or had a smooth recovery with minimum pain? I do know everyone is different but I still fear intense pain:-(

You are going to be fine! Your surgeon I am sure has done many lap bands and nothing is being cut on just added. ( : your emotions are normal, we have all had them. I am a nurse and went back to work in 10 days and have done just fine. As far as the pain goes its not bad, I'm sure your c/s was worse. Just remember to walk as soon as possible to break up the gas. Good luck!!! Very excited for u!!!

I had similiar fears of going "under the knife". The anestheoliogist told me that the risk of getting into an accident in our car every day is far greater than not coming out of anesthesia. I believed him...and it helped calm me.

I too did this for my children. The risks of being fat (illness, early death) far outweighed the risks of surgery. You will be great!

Congrats!

Congratulations and soon WE will be saying Skinny to You!

All the good things will stay with you longer when you are healthy. If you stay in your old world, your children may not have a mother very long. Yes, it is the shocking truth but real.

You are doing something for You and your family. Please stay the course and you will do just fine.

May God bless your journey and heal you quickly! Hugs