Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Im just beginning and have a ton of questions

So to start this off im 27 and a single mom to a 9 month old princess who is the absolute apple of my eye. She is the whole reason i have decided to finally have the surgery. I am all she has and i cant quite see myself keeping up with her at 260lbs. I have been considered obese since i was a kid...done everything u can think of to lose the weight too.

In any event i just found out that i have high cholesterol now as well.

I have anthem blue cross as of jan which covers bariatrics at the centers for medical excellence. We have an hra plan with an fsa as well. My ins covers me at 80% when deductible is fully satisfied....anyone have any experience with anything like this?? I set aside some funds for the fsa to specifically help with the surgery but struggle financially as it is but i just know this is something i need to do to get my life back.

Any advice or info would be helpful...

Would they speed the process up since i already have some significant health risks due to my weight??

Yes, I have Anthem Blue Cross and with them you either need a BMI > 40or have BMI > 35 (? not sure about the exact number here) and have co-morbidities like high cholesterol, blood pressure, diabetes or sleep Apnea. For obese persons, there is a good chance of having sleep Apnea so if needed you could test for that. I would suggest planning so most of the pre and post surgery is done in one year to maximize deductible and benefits.

The cost is not insignificant but I planned it when my family was already close to the deductible and with my BMI > 40 and with the co-morbidities it was a quick approval with no pre-approval weight loss required. My total out of pocket ended up being about $1200.