Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Port Pain Questions

Hi All,

Yesterday I picked up a 23 lbs thing of kitty litter and last night and today my port area is bothering me. Especailly during the night. I had to get up and take some tylenol.

I was told by the nurse releasing me at the hospital not to lift more than 20 lbs for 2 weeks, which I didn't. I was banded on March 13th.

Now I'm worried I may have done something to it.

I'm also supposed to massage my mom tonight (I am a certified therapist) and wondering if I should even do that.

My port still gets sore when I do any kind of stomach straining activities. I'd take it easy for a few days and see if it gets better.

My doctor said do not lift anything over 20lbs for 6 weeks because of the healing process so take it careful for alittle longer. Even after 6 weeks I still had some burning sensation around the port. Nothing to really fret over unless it contines. You could pop a stitch by lifting too much or too soon.

Angie C.

4-15-04

-110lbs

They told me 2 weeks!

I feel so stupid!! I better call. What happens if you pop a stitch?

What if I have to have surgery again??! Oh my god.

STupid stupid stupid.

You are fine, the port is attached to the abdomonal wall which is muscle. You just strained it a little. (even 11 months out from my surgery I have done it.)

Dont worry yourself about it at all..... If it continues to hurt for a few days, then I would call Dr. Abkin or at least Linda at the offices.

If it still worries you. Linda is in the office today call her, she returns calls I promise ,and have her set your mind at ease.

You're doing good girlie :) 17 lbs so far how wonderful.

Oh I do hope you are right Alexra!

I'm waiting on a call back from Dr. Bertha now. I wasn't even thinking when I moved the kitty litter. Gah!!

Thanks for the congrats. And YOU, by the way, you look incredible in your signature picture.