Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Lap Bandee 7Mos Out....50Lbs Down....still Havent Found My "sweet Spot "

Hello everyone! I'm new to Lapband Talk and have not publicly discussed my band with anyone other than close friends. I struggled with having a not so good Surgeon, who cared less whether I hit my goal weight on target. Instead, he decieved me into choosing a lapband over Gastric Bypass and was reluctant to give me fills. This led to depression, feelings of being a failure in everyones eyes and me starrting back on appetite suppresants. It was not until I began to start over "cold turkey ", with exercising, dieting and getting the courage to hire another bariatric surgeon did I began to lose weight. I have had 3 fills, 1 unfill and now waiting to get another fill. I love what the lapband has done for my health & body image....but all the hassles in between makes me really hate that I didn't get the Gastric Bypass.

If you started out with a not-so-good bariatric surgeon who somehow deceived you into choosing the band (I'd like to hear more about how he did that), there's no guarantee that you'd have better success with the bypass.

It's great that you've found a better surgeon. I hope the rest of your WLS journey goes more smoohly now.

I'm so sorry that you had such a bad experience in the beginning, but I'm glad to hear that you are now on the right track and things are moving forward. I don't know that bypass would have been better. It is a lot more "work" on your part, because of the malnutrition issues with digesting, or not digesting, the right nutrients. Now that you are moving forward with the lap band I would stick to it! Get a smaller fill this time and just take it from there! You've already lost a pretty big chunk of weight, so don't be too concerned. Just take it one day at a time. Good luck!

One more thing...