Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

I Need Some Advice From Someone Employed In The Medical Field

I have a strange situation and need advice! I am getting banded on january 23. I work for two doctors (husband/wife). I don't work in their offices...I work in their home....household stuff, cooking, errands, etc. I have not told them about my planned surgery. This is something I would like to keep private. They aren't my actual physicians...I have never seen them in their offices and they are not affiliated with my primary care physician...my question is...can they access my medical records? I was thinking of telling them that I needed some time off because I had an emergency appendectomy. Thoughts? Thanks

If your records was accessed it would be considered a HIPPA violation, since they are not involved in your care. Most people want even waste their time trying to get your info. Don't know what you should tell them in this situation, but goodluck.

I am a nurse. If they aren't your Dr.s then they cannot look at your records. There is a law HIPPA which protects patients information from any other person including family member's who would like to know something about your medical information. It is illegal and taken very seriously. I am very cautious about where any of my patients records are put. You are not allowed to even set down information with a patients name on it let alone give information on that person. I would NEVER do that. In the medical field there can be legal consequences for breaking the HIPPA law. So I wouldn't worry.

If they actually are brave enough to do something like that,it's not only unethical but illegal...HIPPA laws are very clear. Not only would they have to pay a fine and they would have to write you a check along with it...I wouldn't even get into specifics , just tell them it's for pErsonal reasons and leave it at that. By law you don't have to give explanation, I'm sure they don't when they call in. Good Luck :)