Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

I had posted a few days ago asking about last minute change of heart. As a nurse I tell my patients to stay off the internet & just follow your Dr's orders. I had a hiatal hernia repair wit the banding procedure. I had read & heard all the horror stories that can happen during the surgery & post-op. I can happily say I am one of the very lucky ones. I had a little gas yesterday but none today, I slept in my bed & on my side, no nausea. I'm a little sore in the abdomen area & that's to be expected. I was really expecting the worse, I've always been a pessimist but this has truly surprised me. To all of you that hasn't been banded please don't let the worry & anxiety get the best of you. As so many have said they wish they had done it sooner, so did I. What I din't expect was that I went under hungry & woke up hungry. After I got home I had some broth & that was enough for me.I live in Jacksonville, Fl & Dr Baptista did my surgery, he & his staff are so caring. I had researched banding & Dr's for over a year, so I felt I made the correct decision. When I got pregnant for the first time 35 yrs ago I was scared to death because any woman you meet always has her own story. Since I have worked L&D for many years I can honestly say that probably 99% of deliveries are textbook with little or no problems. So, this is what I held onto. The easiest surgery I ever had. I went in @ 7:30 & was home by 2:00. So to all of you that haven't had the surgery just go through with it. I truly think the hardest was the pre op preparation of 2 days with Clear Liquids. Kathy

Good for you! I had a Hiatal Hernia with my surgery as well. 6/17/2011. I can honestly say that the worst part was the gas. I had it for about 2-3 days after I went home. The hernia repair was probably what hurt the most. I am very happy I did it. I feel great and look forward to my lifelong journey. Good luck to you.