Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Watching and never posted......Here I am

Hello everyone and congratulations on your successess! I have been reading posts for a few days now and was so glad when I found this site. I am in the starting process of this whole thing. However, I have realized that more insurances then not, mine included are not covering any sort of weightloss surgeries medications etc. Where do you start when trying to fight them to get this covered? Where do you find financing for the surgery if they continue to deny it? I am a nurse and work on a surgery trauma unit and we are rolling out our barriatric section of our unit in feb. I have been to several seminars offerred by the companies that do the teaching to the Drs. regarding all of the surgeries. I was so excited when we found out that the banding was going to be offerred at our hospital. As I want to take the less invasive procedure so that if complications occur it can be reversed. Please help me on where to start.........it is all so frustrating. Anyone else feel the frustration?

Hi NurseTeresa! Welcome to LBT!!

Where you begin depends on your insurance carrier's reason for denial, and of course with your medical testing. On the one hand you will have to be screened and tested no matter what, so get started on that process. Choose your surgeon and find out what preoperative steps you have to take before submitting a request for pre-cert.

Once you have your denial from the carrier, you should be given appeal instructions. Depending on where you live you may have the right of third-party appeal, or you may be able to appeal to your employer. Dig out your insurance contract and see what they say about who makes the decisions. Take it step by step and don't be intimidated!