Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Need motivation!!! 5 months after surgery, still struggling on diet and exercise.

Hello everyone, I'm new to this. This is my first time doing this. I had my surgery 5 months ago, I've lost 35lbs. It has been a stand still for the last 2 months. I'm trying so hard to keep up with this lapband. I make so many poor choices in the foods I eat, even though I can eat that much. I've had 5 fills in the last 5 months, and I'm now at 7cc's. I work 12 hour night shifts, and just don't have the energy to get up and exercise. I have to find something that works for me, and I also have a big sweet tooth problem. Can someone please give me some advise on what I need to do. And some words of encouragment. Thanks:unsure:

Hi Candice x

To be honest it seems to me you have done really well in terms of weight loss.

Banding is not a fast track to weight loss by any means, and some people (like me) need their bands quite full , almost to max, before they hit a good level of restriction.

Especially if they are really addicted to food and sweets.

I very much understand the sweet thing..I try and allow for a little light dessert around 200 cals max a day and one day a week to have treats.

I wrote some tips down for a fellow bander in UK , I'll copy paste it for you.

OK this is what I wrote for her

You want to be eating as much veg, fruit and lean Protein as you can. You can eat some wholegrain cereals and breads in moderation as these give you fibre, energy and help fill you up. I'm saying this because you aren't yet anywhere near decent restriction and you aren't going to be straight away.

Aim to eat every 4 hours in the daytime so that you don't get too hungry. This is what is happening to you at the moment and no wonder you go off and eat a lot of the old foods that got you into trouble in the first place.