Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Need Lap Band Buddy / Mentor Need a buddy/mentor

Hello, I am really hoping to find a mentor and also buddies.

I am 41, I live in Ohio. I have a 2 year old and a 6 year old. My family lives on 40 acres of forest in the middle of nowhere. I am a consultant that does Map making/ database work. I am scheduled to be banded on Sept 27 with Dr Ortiz in Mexico.

I feel like it would be so useful to have a group that chats about issues. Also a mentor that is good at answering questions etc.

Lisa

Hi Lisa,

I live in suburban Dayton and would be glad to answer any questions you might have. I'm about 8 lbs from goal and my band and I are now reluctant buddies. I am a sort-of empty nester. I have three kids, one is a marine and then I have twins who just started college. All three seem to bounce back home on the weekends. I have been a stay at home mom and before kids I was a medical technologist.

I'd be glad to be your mentor!

Hi there, great to hear from another Ohio gal. Wow you really had to have your band replaced. Why is that? My kids are little, 2 and 6 so I fear the empty nest thing. My husband is the stay at home.

I am on my pre op diet of 2 protien shakes and a light/ or lean cuisine meal - it's going ok although labor day weekend will be hard. I'm worried about post op care, I think I found somewhere I can filled at a barix clinic in groveport, but the local doctor here will not accept anyone that he didn't put the band in for. because I'm in SE Ohio there aren't a ton of options. I'd really like to find a good place that does flouro fills that accepts Mexico people. Let me know if you know of anything. I know there is a place in detroit but that's pretty far.

Well thanks for writing, I look forward to hearing more about your journey. What is dialation repaired?