Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Lots of Questions

As most of you all know, I'm really new to this. I've read several different sites and have done lots of research over the past few weeks. However, if I ask something stupid, then just bare with me - because there are still some things that I'm confused about and some questions that I have.

So, here goes...

- How do they do the fills? I have one person tell me that they put you under an x-ray machine in order to find the port, numb you, and then stick a looonnnngggg needle in your skin and that's how they do it. But just recently someone told me that you have an open spot on the side of your body and the port is there and once you get to your desired weight, then they close the open spot up. They said that the opening is covered with a tightly sealed patch at all times to prevent infection. Some insight on this would be nice...

- Do the fills hurt? Is there a lot of pain after you are filled? And how often do they perform the fills?

- Once you reach your desired weight, is the band loosened, or does it remain tight?

- At what point after the surgery are you allowed to eat normal foods?

- I took a look at some of the pre-surgery diets as well as the post surgery, and aren't you people STARVING? What keeps you from being so hungry? How long are you on a liquid diet?

- How long after surgery were you able to return to work? I'm considering getting my surgery on spring break, so that gives me roughly a week to get surgery and recover and be back on my feet to return to work and school. Do you think this is a good idea?

- Does the doctor put you on a specific diet or do you choose the diet that you are most comfortable with? I'm talking about after the liquid diets and everything is said and done, and you're making your lifestyle changes.

OK, I think that's all I can think of for now. If y'all could answer these, I'd really appreciate it. Thanks so much :)